Tres Leche Cake

IMG_9841

My apologies it’s been a little while since I’ve post. Life has been ridiculous with school and interning. I’m a big procrastinator and it always catches up with me. That’s only part of the reason for my lack of posts. The other reason is my lovely dog Doodle. He thought it’d be a good idea to chew up my camera cord. I finally just got a new cord. Yippee!

So back to to the important stuff, the food. Especially, the cake! I made this beautiful Tres Leche Cake for a night with friends. Andrew and I have a weekly life group with 2 couples who got married around the same time as us. We rotate houses and each bring a yummy dish. My friend made enchiladas so I thought it would be only fitting to being a Tres Leche Cake. This is Ree Drummand’s favorite dessert. I followed her recipe but made a couple alterations. The recipe calls for 1 pint + 1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream, but I just used 1 pint. I cut back on the amount of whipped cream on top. Also I switched blackberries instead of maraschino cherries.  I baked the cake, let it cool, and then poured the velvety tres leche over the cake and put it in the fridge, all before I started my internship yesterday morning.  Once I got home I made the whipped cream and topped the cake with the whipped cream and fresh blackberries.  I kept it refrigerated until the last minute, it’s much better cold.  The cake was a perfect way to end a night with good friends, good food and good conversation.

IMG_9804
IMG_9806
IMG_9818
IMG_9826
IMG_9831
IMG_9839

One thought on “Tres Leche Cake

  1. Pingback: The Little Things | Life à la Mode

Share your thoughts...

