Blackberry Mint Lemonade (+ adult version)

Our lemons are finally lemony! The first thing I had to do was make lemonade and a fancy lemonade at that. And boy did this satisfy (especially the adult version, more to come on that)! After making the lemonade my first time, I’ve made a couple adjustments so I’ll tell you that version.

IMG_9756

Blackberry Mint Lemonade
what you need:
-1/ cup of blackberries
-bunch of mint
-1 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice (about 7 lemons)
-2 cups of water
-1/4 – 1/2 of simple syrup (simmer equal parts of water to sugar until dissolved and let cool)
-Saint Germain Liquor (adult version, very optional)

what to do:
Put the blackberries and bunch of mint into pitcher. I think it’s better to not chop of the mint because otherwise you get the mint in your glass and then you end up eating it. So keep the mint bunched. Muddle the blackberries and mint by squishing them with a wooden spoon. Add lemon juice, water and simply syrup. I like my lemonade on the sour side so I just use 1/4 cup, but taste it and alter the sweetness to what you like. Add lots of ice. Pour the blackberry lemonade over ice and garnish with a blackberry and sprig of mint.

Okay now the fun part, the adult version. Saint Germain. I am in love with this liquor. It feels like such a special addition to a drink, especially since each bottle is numbered. Again it is up to you how much you add. I like weak drinks so I just add about 1/2 an ounce of Saint Germain, while my husband will add an ounce to an ounce and a 1/2. So you can be the mixologist and make it to your liking! The Saint Germain is very sweet so it’s especially good when the lemonade is on the tart side.

IMG_9757

IMG_9770

IMG_9772

IMG_9776

IMG_9781

IMG_9792

IMG_9802

Share your thoughts...

