Tea Time

Tea Time On Mother’s Day I had my mom, Nana, and sisters over for an afternoon tea. When my sisters and I were younger, my mom would take us for afternoon teas often. It was such a special treat. It was a time to relax, talk, practice our manners, and enjoy tasty snacks. Over the years we’ve watched tea house after tea house close in our area. Does no one else go to tea?

For Mother’s Day I recreated our favorite tea time and enjoyed a nice relaxing afternoon at home. I knew I wanted to try my hand at making homemade scone and last week I saw Emily made these gorgeous blueberry scones on Cupcakes and Cashmere. I followed the same Blueberry Scones recipe from Cook’s Illustrated. They turned out wonderfully, oh so buttery and flaky. I was pretty intimidated to make homemade scones from scratch, but was pleasantly surprised with how simple they were. The key is to keep everything as cold as possible.

Blueberry Scones
Blueberry Scones
Blueberry Scones

Tea Time
Along side I served lemon curd, which is an absolute must for me. Scones are not scones without lemon curd. I bought mine from Trader Joe’s, which was delicious. (This summer once I have loads of lemons from my tree I want to try making homemade lemon curd.) Scones also need Devonshire Cream. I made this recipe and served it along side store bought raspberry preserves.

Our favorite tea for an afternoon tea is always English Breakfast. It’s comforting and compliments all the treaty treats, without overpowering. I also served simple tea sandwiches. I smeared a little cream cheese on either side whole wheat bread and sandwiches thinly sliced cucumber in the middle. I cut off the crust and cut them into small squares. I also made a chicken salad sandwich on a grainy nutty wheat bread, removed the crust and cut it into small triangles.

Henri Bendel Tea Pot {How gorgeous is this Henri Bendel tea set? This tea pot alone is worth having an afternoon tea}

Mother's Day
Tea Time
Blueberry Scone
Tea Time

3 thoughts on “Tea Time

  1. Your tea time for Mothers Day is the sweetest! I just love a good tea, especially english breakfast tea. I am swooning over those scones and do believe that I need to bake these soon. Thanks for sharing and Happy belated Mothers Day to you.

Share your thoughts...

