Steak Fajitas

Steak Fajitas Back in high school, fajitas (minus the steak) was the first thing I ever cooked all on my own. I would help my mom in the kitchen often, but never ventured off to make something completely on my own. Over summer between freshman and sophomore year, I discovered the Food Network. I have no clue why I started watching, but I was hooked. My grandparents would drop me off after summer school and I would pull up a stool to the teeny tiny TV in the kitchen and watch Rachael Ray. At the time I was a vegetarian and felt like there was nothing I could make myself for lunch while my parents were at work besides a pb & j. I asked my mom to buy me some veggies and one day made these fajitas (minus the steak) for myself while watching my newest obsession. I probably made it everyday for a whole week and then attempted to widen my abilities. The rest of that summer I cooked myself nice substantial meals everyday. I’m no longer a vegetarian so I add steak, but all veggies is just as delicious!

Steak Fajitas (serves 4)
Ingredients:
1 lb flat iron steak (I just used some chipotle marinaded steak from Trader Joe’s, but any Mexican seasoning works great)
1/2 large red bell pepper, cut into strips
1/2 large orange bell pepper, cut into strips
1/2 large yellow bell pepper, cut into strips
1/2 red onion, sliced
1 avocado
sour cream
cheddar cheese
lemon wedges (to me, the lemon makes it! lime is fine too)
corn tortillas
cooking spray

Directions:
Spray a large cast iron skillet with cooking spray and heat to medium high heat. Cook the steak for 3-5 minutes per side, depending on how well you like your steak. Put steak on a plate and let rest. Spray the skillet some more and add peppers and onions. Cook for about 5 minutes.

Heat and brown tortillas directly over a low flame. Serve with your favorite toppings and enjoy!

Steak Fajitas
Steak Fajitas
Steak Fajitas
Steak Fajitas
Steak Fajitas
Steak Fajitas
Steak Fajitas

2 thoughts on “Steak Fajitas

Share your thoughts...

