Apple Chips

Apple ChipsAn Apple a day keeps the doctor away.  I abide by this saying and do have an apple everyday.  I almost always have one in my purse (along with a bar or two) in case I get hungry, which is very very often.  These spiced apple chips are from Giada De Laurentiis’ new book, Feel Good Food.  I don’t have a mandoline so I sliced the apples as close to the same thickness as I could.  Because I couldn’t slice them all the exact same they turned out to be this nice combination of dried apples and apple chips.  I love both so it was a win win for me! Some apple slices were crisp, some soft and chewy, and some a combo of both.
Apple Chips
Apple Chips
Ingredients:
Cooking Spray
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2 large tart apples (Giada suggests Granny Smith)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 300. In a small bowl combine sugar, cinnamon and salt and set aside. Cut apples on a mandoline in 1/6 inch slices. Spray a parchment paper lined baking sheet with cooking spray. Place apple slices in a single layer on the parchment paper. The apples should fill 2 baking sheets. Sprinkle apples with cinnamon sugar. Place one baking sheet on the top rack of the oven and one on the bottom rack of the oven. Bake for 30 minutes, then switch two baking sheets from top to bottom and rotate. Bake for another 10-15 minutes, until the edges of the apples curl up. (I found that mine cooked in just 30 minutes. So I switched and rotated after 20 minutes and cooked another 10.) Pull parchment paper onto the kitchen counter and let cool for 20-30 minutes to allow them to crisp up more.
Apple Chips
Apple Chips

2 thoughts on “Apple Chips

Share your thoughts...

