French Macarons

Valentine MacaronsFrench Macarons are dainty little confections that just make me smile.  While studying in Paris I made regular trips to Ladurée for their famous macarons.  The presentation and packaging of their sweet treats were worth the metro ride alone.  I decided to test out these beauties for myself and Valentine’s day is the perfect occasion.  I followed Martha Stewart’s French Macarons recipe for the macrons and  and 1/3 batch of her Swiss Meringue Buttercream for the filling.  These pretty pastries will make the perfect valentines treat for my family and friends

Before baking off the macarons I divided the mixture to make different color macarons: pink, purple, green and natural white.  Then baked up the little babies till they were light and crisp.
Valentine Macarons
Valentine Macarons
Valentine Macarons
Valentine Macarons
While the macarons cooled I made a 1/3 batch of the Swiss Meringue Buttercream, which is more than enough to sandwich between the macarons and a few spoonfuls to make sure the buttercream tastes just right.  This buttercream is heavenly!   I split up the buttercream to make different flavors for my different colored macarons.   My flavors include: raspberry, coconut, pistachio, peanut butter, peanut butter and jelly, and vanilla.

Raspberry: 1/4 cup Swiss Meringue Buttercream + 1 tbsp raspberry preserves

Coconut: 1/4 cup Swiss Meringue Buttercream + 1 tbsp sweeten shredded coconut

Pistachio: 1/4 cup Swiss Meringue Buttercream + 1 tbsp chopped pistachios

Peanut Butter: 1/4 cup Swiss Meringue Buttercream + 1 tbsp creamy peanut butter

Peanut Butter and Jelly: spread peanut butter filling on macaron and raspberry filling on another and sandwich together

Vanilla: plain Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Valentine Macarons
Valentine Macarons
Valentine Macarons
Valentine Macarons
Valentine Macarons
Valentine Macarons

5 thoughts on “French Macarons

  1. Pingback: Panzanella Salad | Life à la Mode

  2. I found this gorgeous little cheese, wine and sweets market while waiting for a friend in Montparnasse, and I got all the flavours.
    And I think nothing beats chocolate, as cliche as it may sound 😉

  3. Pingback: Favorites from 2014 | Life à la Mode

Share your thoughts...

